New South Wales is set to become another Australian state to introduce digital driver licences.

Expected to roll out statewide in the coming months, the NSW government has already labelled the initiative a “success” after successful trials across Dubbo, Albury and Sydney’s eastern suburbs.

“Smartphones have become de facto wallets and we’re using cutting edge technology so that drivers can use a digital licence in everyday scenarios,” said Minister for Customer Service, Victor Dominello during last month’s state budget.

The digital licences will be available on smartphones through the Service NSW app, which can be accessed with a pin.

“It will provide additional levels of security and protection against identity fraud, compared to the plastic driver licence,” the Minister added.

Once digital licences are officially rolled out across NSW, drivers will be allowed to use just the app.

Trials are expected to continue for the next few months before the program is then extended across NSW in August.


Trial postcodes

Sydney’s Eastern Suburbs region

  • 2022 – Bondi Junction
  • 2024 – Bronte
  • 2026 – Bondi
  • 2031 – Randwick/Clovelly
  • 2034 – Coogee


  • 2640
  • 2641

Dubbo region

  • 2818  Geurie
  • 2820  Wellington
  • 2821 – Narromine
  • 2822  Eumungerie
  • 2830 – Dubbo
  • 2868  Yeoval