Queensland will close its border to greater Sydney region amid an outbreak of coronavirus that has reached 70 cases in the NSW capital.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk says all arrivals from Sydney, the Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Illawarra-Shoalhaven will have to go into 14-day quarantine on arrival in Queensland from 1am on Monday.

Queenslanders in the NSW capital have been given until 1am Tuesday to get home, but they will need to be tested for COVID-19 and go into self-quarantine on arrival.

Want more? Listen to this best bit from Jonesy & Amanda!