Most of Van Morrison’s expansive album catalog is scheduled to be reissued digitally and also will debut on various streaming services this Friday, August 28, as part of a new deal with Sony’s Legacy Recordings division. 

Thirty-three of the prolific Northern Irish singer/songwriter’s solo albums, spanning 1972’s Saint Dominic’s Preview through to 2009’s Astral Weeks — Live at the Hollywood Bowl, will be made available Friday.

Essential Van Morrison will be released the same day as a two-CD set and digital download.  The deal with Legacy Recordings also will feature the reissue of four titles from Morrison’s pre-solo band Them sometime later this year. 

In addition, the coming months will see the release a new single-disc compilation and deluxe expanded versions of select Van albums, including Saint Dominic’s Preview, 1973’s Hard Nose the Highway, the 1974 live album It’s Too Late to Stop Now and 1990’s Enlightenment.

The new agreement will mark the first time that most of Morrison’s albums will be made available to streaming services, while many of the albums being reissued have been unavailable on any format for quite some time.

“Van Morrison is one of the great singers, performers and musical artists in the history of recorded music,” says Legacy Recordings president Adam Block.  “He continues to touch the hearts and souls of millions with the emotional power and spiritual truths of his songs.  Legacy Recordings is proud to partner with Van to help him protect and curate his astounding catalog and to be given the opportunity to bring his music to whole new generations of fans around the world.”

Here’s the list of Van’s albums that will be released digitally and made available for streaming on Friday:



Saint Dominic’s Preview (1972)

Hard Nose the Highway (1973)

It’s Too Late to Stop Now (live) (1974)

Veedon Fleece (1974)

A Period of Transition (1977)


Wavelength (1978)

Into the Music (1979)

Common One (1980)

Beautiful Vision (1982)

Inarticulate Speech of the Heart (1983)

Live at the Grand Opera House, Belfast (live) (1984)


A Sense of Wonder (1984)

No Guru, No Method, No Teacher (1984)

Poetic Champions Compose (1987)

Irish Heartbeat (with The Chieftains) (1988)

Avalon Sunset (1989)

Enlightenment (1990)


Hymns to the Silence (1991)

Too Long in Exile (1993)

A Night in San Francisco (live) (1994)

Days Like This (1995)

How Long Has This Been Going On? (1995)

Tell Me Something: The Songs of Mose Allison (1996)


The Healing Game (1997)

The Philosopher’s Stone (two-CD outtakes compilation) (1998)

Back on Top (1999)

The Skiffle Sessions: Live in Belfast (live) (2000)

Down the Road (2002)

What’s Wrong with This Picture? (2003)


Magic Time (2005)

Pay the Devil (2006)

Keep It Simple (2008)

Astral Weeks — Live at the Hollywood Bowl (live) (2009)


And here are the Them albums that will be reissued later this year:


The Angry Young Them/Them (1965)

Them Again (1966)

Them featuring Van Morrison (compilation) (1972)

The Story of Them featuring Van Morrison (compilation) (1997)

Want more? Listen to this best bit from Jonesy & Amanda!