A new 10-CD box set gathering all nine studio Doobie Brothers albums from their Warner Bros. Records tenure is set to be released.  It was the band’s most prolific and successful period on the label, as well as the 1983 live record Farewell Tour, and is scheduled to be released on July 24.

The Warner Bros. Years 1971-1983, includes The Doobie Brothers’ 1971 self-titled debut, as well as such platinum-selling albums as 1972’s Toulouse Street, 1973’s The Captain and Me, 1974’s What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits, 1976’s Takin’ It to the Streets, 1978’s chart-topping Minute by Minute and 1980’s One Step Closer. 

During this period, the band transitioned from a roots-and boogie-rock group led by singer/guitarist Tom Johnston to a soulful pop-rock outfit fronted by singer/keyboardist Michael McDonald.

Among the many major hits featured on the Doobies’ Warner releases are “Listen to the Music,” “Long Train Runnin’,” “China Grove,” “Takin’ It to the Streets,” “Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me),” “Real Love” and the #1 singles “Black Water” and “What a Fool Believes.”

 The Farewell Tour album captures The Doobie Brothers playing with members of the group’s various lineups during the 1982 trek they mounted prior to their temporary breakup that year.

The Doobies, of course, have been back together for many years, and continue to tour with a lineup led by founding singer/guitarists Johnston and Pat Simmons and longtime multi-instrumentalist John McFee.  Check out the band’s busy 2015 tour schedule at DoobieBros.com.

Here’s the full list of albums featured on the Warner Bros. Years 1971-1983 box set:



The Doobie Brothers (1971)

Toulouse Street (1972)

The Captain and Me (1973)

What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits (1974)

Stampede (1975)


Takin’ It to the Streets (1976

Livin’ on the Fault Line (1977)

Minute by Minute (1978)

One Step Closer (1980)

Farewell Tour (1983)

Want more? Listen to this best bit from Jonesy & Amanda!