John Lennon’s eight studio solo albums are set to be compiled in a new vinyl box set release.

The collection, titled simply ‘Lennon’, will feature the records ‘John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band’, ‘Imagine’, ‘Some Time in New York City’, ‘Mind Games’, ‘Walls and Bridges’, ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll’, ‘Double Fantasy’ and ‘Milk And Honey’, all remastered.

The albums will also come as a ultra high-resolution digital file, with postcards, posters and booklets also included in the box set. Many of the albums have long been out of print on vinyl and the new releases will replicate their original artwork.

The box set will be released on June 9, with the individual albums following separately on August 21.

The remastered albums were previously released on CD and digital formats in 2010 as the ‘John Lennon Signature Box’.

Yoko Ono told Rolling Stone of remastering the albums: “I thought it was going to be fine – listening to John’s songs has been a routine thing for me for the last 30 years. But this time, maybe because I listened to all of them, it was very hard, emotionally hard. ‘I’m Losing You’ – that really hit me.”

Cynthia Lennon, the former wife of John Lennon, recently passed away in April at her home in Mallorca, Spain following what was described as “a short but brave battle with cancer”. She was 75.