He’s busy  touring the world, playing in Las Vegas and raising two young sons, somehow Elton John has found time to go into the studio and make a new album.  It’s called Wonderful Crazy Night, and it’ll be out February 5.  The first single, “Looking Up,” arrives tomorrow.

For the new album, Elton re-teamed with legendary producer T-Bone Burnett, who also oversaw his 2013 disc The Diving Board and his 2010 album with Leon Russell, The Union.

Other collaborators on the album include Elton’s longtime songwriting partner Bernie Taupin, as well as drummer Nigel Olsson and guitarist Davey Johnstone.  The latter two haven’t played on an Elton record sinceThe Captain & the Kid in 2006.  Longtime Elton associate and percussionist extraordinaire Ray Cooper is also on board for the project.

Wonderful Crazy Night will be released on Island Records, which also released Elton’s 1975 landmark album Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy. The album is available for pre-order on iTunes tomorrow.

Here’s the track listing:

1. “Wonderful Crazy Night”

2. “In The Name Of You”


3. “Claw Hammer”

4. “Blue Wonderful”

5. “I’ve Got 2 Wings”

6. “A Good Heart”

7.”Looking Up”

8. “Guilty Pleasure”


9. “Tambourine”

10. “The Open Chord”

11.  “Free And Easy” *DELUXE VERSION ONLY

12. “England And America” *DELUXE VERSION ONLY


…and a taste of “Looking Up”: