WSFM 101.7
Pure Gold

Now Playing:

Listen on

Australian Of The Year Awards Honour Science, Sport & Fun

She's credited with launching Australia into “the space race of the computing era”, and now quantum physics professor Michelle Yvonne Simmons can add Australian Of The Year to her achievements.

She's been honoured for her contribution to the country, along with a teacher who found fame by making maths fun, a biophysicist working to solve the world’s food challenges, and a kick-ass footballer who's top of her game.

2018 Australian of the Year Professor Michelle Yvonne Simmons (NSW)

She is one of the world’s top scientists, and with her team at the University of NSW, created the world’s first transistor made from a single atom, along with the world’s thinnest wire.

Her goal is to build a quantum computer able to solve problems in minutes - problems that would normally take thousands of years to solve. It could revolutionise drug design, weather forecasting, self-driving vehicles, artificial intelligence, and more.

2018 Australia's Local Hero Eddie Woo (NSW)     


The brains behind 'Wootube', Western Sydney teacher Eddie Woo has become famous for making maths fun.

He started posting videos online in 2012 for a student who was missing school while being treated for cancer. Now he has more than 100,000 subscribers.

2018 Senior Australian of the Year Dr Graham Farquhar AO (ACT)


Dr Graham Farquhar is tackling some of the greatest challenges facing humanity - how to feed the world's growing populations.

His work has helped develop more water efficient crops, improving food security in the face of climate change.

2018 Young Australian of the Year Samantha Kerr (WA)


She represented her country at just 15, selected for the Matildas squad. Now, at 24, Samantha Kerr is in her fifth season of America's National Women's Soccer League, and in 2017 was a finalist for FIFA Female Player of the Year.

Known for celebrating her goals with a trademark backflip, she's a champion of equality and an ambassador for all women's sport.

Share this: